Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen

1039 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great audio interface on a budget
Timieck, 09.05.2021
I bought this with the purpose of using it with an amp sim since my current living situation does not allow me to use a proper amp.

The setup is very easy and even though I have no problems with technology och pcs I can easily see someone that is "tech illiterate" having very few issues setting this up since it takes you to IK Multimedias website where they run you through all the steps.

Power over USB is great for cable management, the build quality is great and it looks great and not out of place which is something I find important.

I have been running my Schecter C-7 Pro in to amplitube 5 with this and I haven't run in to any issues at all and it sounds great, not perfect but pretty close.

There's no features I'm missing personally but I can see some people wanting more.

All in all a great audio interface if you only need inputs for one microphone and one guitar and all for a great price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Get it.
MikeCrossJung, 14.12.2020
Sound surprisingly good, both the preamp's sound for recording as well as the monitoring output quality. Headphone amp sounds good too. Knobs and build are ultra-solid, looks and feels premium. Well done folks.

For me this tiny guy is an easy desktop workplace audio solution acceptable for basic reference. No need to get in the studio for quality assurance listening, just this and some DT770 headphones. ( I'm an audio director. ) Since it's small, cheap, and runs on bus power, it's a good benchmark for multiple audio office workstations.

The software app is the standard for the whole series, but it doesn't offer features for the Solo model. Install and forget.

Keep in mind on this model the monitor level and headphone level are hard linked. With a standby switch on your speakers within reach, that's workable.

Ah, a word to the wise if you're new, if you are planning on using ProTools on the included PT First license, be prepared, by today's standards (2020) it's abysmally poor software. Only go that route if you have specific career reasons.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good as starting point
Onchky, 15.02.2021
I've never had experience using audio interfaces. I was searching for a nice sound card to help my Mac Mini drive Sony MDR-7506, and after an extensive search, I realised I got Samson Q2U mic, and hell, why not try XLR stuff while getting an amp. For the price of desktop Fiio, I got way better build quality, perfectly stable performance without any issues on boot both on Mac and Windows (which is a nemesis of Fiio devices), and a nice clean interface for my mic. Why 4 stars for sound then? See, Q2U is a dynamic mic, and requires tons of gain. I could not manage to make it work without literally eating the mic. Replacing its head with Shure A81WS windscreen for better performance with sibilance and plosives made things worse—gain is clearly not enough. Other than that, Solo got super clean noise floor, clean and nice headphone amp for my cans, and really good build.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good deal for the price!!
AzzzTs, 14.04.2021
After using this for some months now, I can say that it was a good purchase. It works well for recording an instrument with no noticeable delay and it has a very good quality, it is simple to use and easy to set up.

What's not so good is that I have had some issues with my pc's audio some time after starting using it, but it's probably nothing to worry about since it happens very rarely and it's easy to fix.

It also comes with Ableton Live, Pro Tools and a bunch of audio plugins which is very useful for someone that wants to record audio. It's a very very good deal for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent quality
Kevinfoley, 06.04.2021
I am using this device at home for Amplitube 5 amp plugins for my guitar. The quality in sound and built is unmatched in this price range. I think if you are looking to record music or even just to plug your headphones in and listen yourself these are the way to go.

Pros:
- Affordable for non professionals
- Ease of use with installation, when you plug it in your computer recognises it straight away and runs through install and setup
- Build quality is very good

Cons
- Does not come with headphone adapter for normal aux chord
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome piece of technology
Otterfinger, 05.01.2021
I use this interface to connect my electrical guiter to my Macbook Pro with Garageband. Setting this up was more than easy and it works perfectly fine. Before I purchased this, I was kind of worried because of the latency discussions and I was quite surprised that when I first connected this device to my Macbook that there was a huge delay of about 1 second. But I quickly found out that this was my own mistake because I used Bluetooth Headphones. I switched to speakers (or other headphones with a cable) and the latency disappears completely. I can highly recommend to purchase this product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nice for home recording!
Tuncy, 07.05.2020
I am super happy with it.
I thought its broken in the first place. I had a problem with the USB plug on my computer, so the sound was crackling especially on youtube videos. The USB port was probably bottlenecking the data transfer. I switched the USB port to the USB 3.0 one (even tho its a USB 2.0 device) and it solved the problem.

My only complain is that, it doesnt come with a dedicated headphone volume knob or a mute switch. So as long as my headphones are plugged in, they work. If you don't have a volume knob on your speakers, its very hard to balance the volume of monitors and headphones. If I knew it, I would buy the 2i2. And also, you cannot do a stereo recording from your stereo effects unit.

Good overall. Do consider its cons and pros. 2i2 may be a better option for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
pleaz, 19.04.2021
I like that sound card, I have not see any latency by my ears
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
çok güzel
alibeber, 29.03.2021
kaliteli işini iyi yapıyor.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sounds really good
Keepiko, 11.02.2021
Overall is a good product for the price. The build quality is solid with its metal body. The output sound quality is amazing for the prize, overall really satisfied with the product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect to me
Hostis, 21.01.2021
I use this audio interface to connect my monitors to my computer, as well as to plug a microphone in and record my voice.

The look is pretty cool, the color is nice, it is pretty small and fits well anywhere.

The different buttons feel really great to use, most of them have a little light showing when it's used (you can change the colors yourself on your computer).

I don't hear any white noise or anything, and never had any problem so far. The recording with my microphone went well too, which means the 48V button worked well. I don't hear any particular latency while playing music on my monitors.

I don't see any cons for now, the price is really reasonable and I like this audio interface very much! :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Scarlett Solo
MarijoCro, 08.02.2021
Great for recording guitars in your bedroom, I'm about to use it as a DAC as well, for the Sennheiser HD58X Jubilee headphones that I'm currently expecting.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
My first Interface
hugodg, 09.02.2021
I use this in my bedroom setup to connect my synthesizer and record into my DAW. Does what it's supposed to do. Great build quality. Some nice free software included with new free software every few months.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good Quality and Compact
Massi232, 01.05.2021
Very easy to use and has a really nice sound with vocals, electric guitar, ukulele and acoustic guitar!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Not good for recording
Yngwie J, 21.04.2021
First of all i've already returned the product!
Received new one with the same problem!

The pros:
looks good and has kind of a good and useful low latency!

The cons:
I start recording (empty track 1) and add (track 2) with some audio file or just enable the metronome and rec couple of seconds! I used amp sim to boost the signal of the recorded (empty track 1) because i record electric guitars)!

Listen that everything bleeds on the recorded track!
Whatever sound there is on the OS, is recorded onto the armed track (empty track 1), whether it is some audio file or the metronome itself!
In this case audio from the DAW, but you can try it with YouTube or whatever, it will be the same thing...

This is not happening on my old interface from 2013 KOMPLETE AUDIO 6!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Disappointing interface which supports ONLY 1 OUTPUT!
DisappointedMan, 26.08.2020
Have no idea how this interface became so popular..

I will have to return this as soon as get another interface as this one costing 100 eur doesnt even handle separate audio via headpones or monitors.. I mean How stupid the interface has to be if when you have your monitors connected and plug your headphones, you wont hear anything until you unplug both monitors from the back.. This is ridiculous device and definitely not worth buying unless you know that you will be using only 1 output .

When buying this I had no idea it has such a huge issue and could not see anyone noting this at all..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Solid Litthe Thing
Tsvetan Tsvetkov, 17.12.2019
Well it's an industry leading product so a lot has been said and written about the Scarlett series. Here are my 2 cents.
Pros:
- Very well Built
- Usb C
- Air button
- Direct Monitoring (not all similar product have this)
- Small and Portable
- Sounds Decent
- Bunch of free software and plugins bundled with it

Cons:
- When I use my guitar with it it peeks super early so the volume levels in the monitors can't go that high
- No headphone volume control
- No combined XLR and audio jack
- A bit expensive

Overall it works great it does what it's made to do and it's very rigid. If the price doesn't bother you this is the usb interface for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A great audio interface
Soheil JB, 13.08.2020
I'm not an expert when it comes to studio equipment but I'm pretty sure this audio interface won't let you down, The build quality is fantastic and I love the sound quality of this audio interface, It's super clean and It has a built-in Phantom power so you don't need to get a separate one for your condenser microphone and you can simply connect this to the computer with the USB-C cable that comes in the box.
The installation process was pretty straightforward and Focusrite has a step by step installation guide on their website.
Did I mention you get a bunch of VSTs and Ableton Live 10 for free? I'm pretty sure if you try to get each one of those it's gonna cost you more than the audio interface.

The only downside for me was some audio crackling when watching youtube ( which doesn't usually happen ) and you can't get any sound output for headphones unless your studio speakers are off which is a bit of hassle and having a volume control for your headphones would've been nice. The more expensive one of this audio interface comes with this feature but I feel Focusrite should've left the headphone volume knob on this model as well.
If you've got the budget and you need two instrument input and you do lots of recording, Get the more expensive one so you don't regret it in the future, For me, this is enough and I'm pretty happy with my purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Superb quality for a reasonable price
Rebecka, 01.05.2021
Can't say a single bad thing about it. I love the build quality and ease of use, it was literally plug & play! It's great!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Outstanding quality for a very affordable price.
AKooymans, 18.03.2020
I got this interface as an addition to my home studio; I mainly use it to track bass and guitars. All I can really say is that I have no complaints whatsoever!

The design is very nice, the device itself feels very sturdy. The free software perks that are included are very nice as well. Focusrite provides several detailed instructional videos, so installation is also a walk in the park.

PROS:
- Beautiful and sturdy design;
- Easy to install, thanks to Focusrite's instructions;

CONS:
- I guess that a con for some people can be that you can only hook up one instrument and one microphone at the same time. For me this is no problem, since I'm only tracking one instrument at a time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Buy one and be happy!
ChrisMC, 10.11.2020
Only positive things to say about this interface! I do recommend to anyone :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent
colin p, 30.11.2020
Great sound quality,
Portable
Easy to use
Great software included
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Antonio_, 27.11.2020
really is what you expect:simple,plug and play,great sound quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The greatest budget audiointerface
George Panfilov, 06.02.2021
This is my first audiointerface and I'm not an expert in equipment but my headphones sounds really cool! Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen has wonderful convenience and mobility, I think I'll take it with me to travels and other trips. The first reaction was WOW, design is really cool but impractical because glossy panel collects all the dust. I think it's the only one minus. I recommend this audiointerface to beginners . Buy it and you will glad to be owner of this interface.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great!
Vanzwam, 01.05.2021
Works like a charm on windows and Mac
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen

105 €
All prices incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery free of charge expected between Tuesday, 18.05. and Wednesday, 19.05.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

Recently Viewed
Chapman Guitars ML1 Modern Baritone Red Sea

Electric Guitar Body: Alder, Top: Flamed maple veneer, Neck: Maple, Fretboard: Ebony with dot inlays, Nut width: 42 mm, Radius: 350 mm, Frets: 24, Scale: 711 mm (28"), Pickup system: Chapman Sonorous Zero Baritone humbucker, Controls: 1 Master volume,…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg SQ-64

Polyphonic Step Sequencer with 4 Tracks 3 Melody tracks with 8-fold polyphony and 16 patterns of 64 steps each, Drum track with 16 monophonic sub-tracks, 64-Key matrix with illuminated buttons, OLED display, Editing modes per melody track: gate, pitch…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

Recently Viewed
Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair

Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair - 2 matched small diaphragm condenser microphones, polar pattern: cardioid, frequency range: 20 Hz - 20 kHz, sensitivity: 14.6 mV/Pa, -36.7 dBV/P, max. SPL: 135 dB, low-cut: 80 Hz (12 dB/oct), pad switch: -12dB,…

Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic Me-C

Rode VideoMic Me-C; condenser directional microphone; suitable for Android devices with USB-C connector; integrated USB type-C plug; 1/2" condenser capsule; polar pattern: cardioid; front pickup angle: 90°; sturdy aluminium housing with ceramic coating; built-in microphone preamplifier with DA converter (24Bit…

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

Recently Viewed
Sennheiser MKE 400 MKII

Sennheiser MKE 400 MKII - condenser camera microphone, polar pattern: supercardioid, integrated windscreen, internal suspension, frequency response: 50 Hz - 20 kHz, switchable sensitivity: -23 / -42 / -63 dBV / Pa, max. SPL 132 dB SPL, 2 - 10V…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.