Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen

1048 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A great audio interface
Soheil JB, 13.08.2020
I'm not an expert when it comes to studio equipment but I'm pretty sure this audio interface won't let you down, The build quality is fantastic and I love the sound quality of this audio interface, It's super clean and It has a built-in Phantom power so you don't need to get a separate one for your condenser microphone and you can simply connect this to the computer with the USB-C cable that comes in the box.
The installation process was pretty straightforward and Focusrite has a step by step installation guide on their website.
Did I mention you get a bunch of VSTs and Ableton Live 10 for free? I'm pretty sure if you try to get each one of those it's gonna cost you more than the audio interface.

The only downside for me was some audio crackling when watching youtube ( which doesn't usually happen ) and you can't get any sound output for headphones unless your studio speakers are off which is a bit of hassle and having a volume control for your headphones would've been nice. The more expensive one of this audio interface comes with this feature but I feel Focusrite should've left the headphone volume knob on this model as well.
If you've got the budget and you need two instrument input and you do lots of recording, Get the more expensive one so you don't regret it in the future, For me, this is enough and I'm pretty happy with my purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Get it.
MikeCrossJung, 14.12.2020
Sound surprisingly good, both the preamp's sound for recording as well as the monitoring output quality. Headphone amp sounds good too. Knobs and build are ultra-solid, looks and feels premium. Well done folks.

For me this tiny guy is an easy desktop workplace audio solution acceptable for basic reference. No need to get in the studio for quality assurance listening, just this and some DT770 headphones. ( I'm an audio director. ) Since it's small, cheap, and runs on bus power, it's a good benchmark for multiple audio office workstations.

The software app is the standard for the whole series, but it doesn't offer features for the Solo model. Install and forget.

Keep in mind on this model the monitor level and headphone level are hard linked. With a standby switch on your speakers within reach, that's workable.

Ah, a word to the wise if you're new, if you are planning on using ProTools on the included PT First license, be prepared, by today's standards (2020) it's abysmally poor software. Only go that route if you have specific career reasons.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good as starting point
Onchky, 15.02.2021
I've never had experience using audio interfaces. I was searching for a nice sound card to help my Mac Mini drive Sony MDR-7506, and after an extensive search, I realised I got Samson Q2U mic, and hell, why not try XLR stuff while getting an amp. For the price of desktop Fiio, I got way better build quality, perfectly stable performance without any issues on boot both on Mac and Windows (which is a nemesis of Fiio devices), and a nice clean interface for my mic. Why 4 stars for sound then? See, Q2U is a dynamic mic, and requires tons of gain. I could not manage to make it work without literally eating the mic. Replacing its head with Shure A81WS windscreen for better performance with sibilance and plosives made things worse—gain is clearly not enough. Other than that, Solo got super clean noise floor, clean and nice headphone amp for my cans, and really good build.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect
greekphilip, 10.05.2021
This little interface is perfect for what I wanted. Instead of getting an amp I just use this along with logic and my studio monitors. Works like a charm!

Pros: Small, good design, easy to configure, easy to use

Cons: Nothing really
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Best deal
swordy, 11.05.2021
If this is your first recording device or you're an experienced musician, this product is a perfect choice for its price. No background noise, user friendly and portable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sounds great!
audioisgood, 14.05.2021
Sound is fantastic and the device has many useful features.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Outstanding quality for a very affordable price.
AKooymans, 18.03.2020
I got this interface as an addition to my home studio; I mainly use it to track bass and guitars. All I can really say is that I have no complaints whatsoever!

The design is very nice, the device itself feels very sturdy. The free software perks that are included are very nice as well. Focusrite provides several detailed instructional videos, so installation is also a walk in the park.

PROS:
- Beautiful and sturdy design;
- Easy to install, thanks to Focusrite's instructions;

CONS:
- I guess that a con for some people can be that you can only hook up one instrument and one microphone at the same time. For me this is no problem, since I'm only tracking one instrument at a time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nice for home recording!
Tuncy, 07.05.2020
I am super happy with it.
I thought its broken in the first place. I had a problem with the USB plug on my computer, so the sound was crackling especially on youtube videos. The USB port was probably bottlenecking the data transfer. I switched the USB port to the USB 3.0 one (even tho its a USB 2.0 device) and it solved the problem.

My only complain is that, it doesnt come with a dedicated headphone volume knob or a mute switch. So as long as my headphones are plugged in, they work. If you don't have a volume knob on your speakers, its very hard to balance the volume of monitors and headphones. If I knew it, I would buy the 2i2. And also, you cannot do a stereo recording from your stereo effects unit.

Good overall. Do consider its cons and pros. 2i2 may be a better option for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
ilisian, 19.03.2021
The only negative is that there is no volume on the heaphones..when you use headphones u hear the guitar on both speakers and headphones..if u turn off the speakers u have no sound on your instrument!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Disappointing interface which supports ONLY 1 OUTPUT!
DisappointedMan, 26.08.2020
Have no idea how this interface became so popular..

I will have to return this as soon as get another interface as this one costing 100 eur doesnt even handle separate audio via headpones or monitors.. I mean How stupid the interface has to be if when you have your monitors connected and plug your headphones, you wont hear anything until you unplug both monitors from the back.. This is ridiculous device and definitely not worth buying unless you know that you will be using only 1 output .

When buying this I had no idea it has such a huge issue and could not see anyone noting this at all..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent quality
Kevinfoley, 06.04.2021
I am using this device at home for Amplitube 5 amp plugins for my guitar. The quality in sound and built is unmatched in this price range. I think if you are looking to record music or even just to plug your headphones in and listen yourself these are the way to go.

Pros:
- Affordable for non professionals
- Ease of use with installation, when you plug it in your computer recognises it straight away and runs through install and setup
- Build quality is very good

Cons
- Does not come with headphone adapter for normal aux chord
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome piece of technology
Otterfinger, 05.01.2021
I use this interface to connect my electrical guiter to my Macbook Pro with Garageband. Setting this up was more than easy and it works perfectly fine. Before I purchased this, I was kind of worried because of the latency discussions and I was quite surprised that when I first connected this device to my Macbook that there was a huge delay of about 1 second. But I quickly found out that this was my own mistake because I used Bluetooth Headphones. I switched to speakers (or other headphones with a cable) and the latency disappears completely. I can highly recommend to purchase this product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
çok güzel
alibeber, 29.03.2021
kaliteli işini iyi yapıyor.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good deal for the price!!
AzzzTs, 14.04.2021
After using this for some months now, I can say that it was a good purchase. It works well for recording an instrument with no noticeable delay and it has a very good quality, it is simple to use and easy to set up.

What's not so good is that I have had some issues with my pc's audio some time after starting using it, but it's probably nothing to worry about since it happens very rarely and it's easy to fix.

It also comes with Ableton Live, Pro Tools and a bunch of audio plugins which is very useful for someone that wants to record audio. It's a very very good deal for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Solid Litthe Thing
Tsvetan Tsvetkov, 17.12.2019
Well it's an industry leading product so a lot has been said and written about the Scarlett series. Here are my 2 cents.
Pros:
- Very well Built
- Usb C
- Air button
- Direct Monitoring (not all similar product have this)
- Small and Portable
- Sounds Decent
- Bunch of free software and plugins bundled with it

Cons:
- When I use my guitar with it it peeks super early so the volume levels in the monitors can't go that high
- No headphone volume control
- No combined XLR and audio jack
- A bit expensive

Overall it works great it does what it's made to do and it's very rigid. If the price doesn't bother you this is the usb interface for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Scarlett Solo
MarijoCro, 08.02.2021
Great for recording guitars in your bedroom, I'm about to use it as a DAC as well, for the Sennheiser HD58X Jubilee headphones that I'm currently expecting.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Product
Zhe Soyo, 19.01.2021
Really nice Audio Interface, Great Build Quality, Easy to use !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great audio interface on a budget
Timieck, 09.05.2021
I bought this with the purpose of using it with an amp sim since my current living situation does not allow me to use a proper amp.

The setup is very easy and even though I have no problems with technology och pcs I can easily see someone that is "tech illiterate" having very few issues setting this up since it takes you to IK Multimedias website where they run you through all the steps.

Power over USB is great for cable management, the build quality is great and it looks great and not out of place which is something I find important.

I have been running my Schecter C-7 Pro in to amplitube 5 with this and I haven't run in to any issues at all and it sounds great, not perfect but pretty close.

There's no features I'm missing personally but I can see some people wanting more.

All in all a great audio interface if you only need inputs for one microphone and one guitar and all for a great price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Buy one and be happy!
ChrisMC, 10.11.2020
Only positive things to say about this interface! I do recommend to anyone :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Small but big quality
Theofanhs Siderhs, 13.03.2021
I gave it as a gift to my brother to sing with his microphone as he plays at the same time with his guitar, reliable device, good materials, quite happy, easy installation, so there are no negative comments about her money and to start in the world of music is the best!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Unbeatable for the money
go_faustino, 20.02.2021
Use it for some home recordings, and it works perfectly with a Mac / Garage Band. The build quality and looks are excellent, the sound quality can't be faulted for the price and has everything you need for quick and simple instrument / vocal recording. Small enough to carry around and looks really nice on your desk.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good Quality and Compact
Massi232, 01.05.2021
Very easy to use and has a really nice sound with vocals, electric guitar, ukulele and acoustic guitar!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent
colin p, 30.11.2020
Great sound quality,
Portable
Easy to use
Great software included
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Antonio_, 27.11.2020
really is what you expect:simple,plug and play,great sound quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
just what you're looking for
Dmitry Stepanov, 08.10.2020
a simple compact and good sounding solution, everything works as intended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen

105 €
All prices incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery free of charge expected between Thursday, 20.05. and Friday, 21.05.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

3
(3)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Golden Reverberator

Effects Pedal Stereo reverb, With spring-, plate- and vintage digital effects, True or buffered bypass, Presets can be stored, Additional effects available to download, Live/Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm jack (input 2 for stereo…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Harmony 61 MKII

Alesis Harmony 61 MKII Keyboard with 61 piano style keys, 300 sounds, 300 rhythms and 40 demo songs, speakers, headphone output 3,5 mm, powered via batteries (6x AA not included!), incl. skoove 3 month premium online lessions, dimensions: 948 x…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

Recently Viewed
PRS SE Zach Myers MC

Electric Guitar Zach Myers (The Fairwell) Signature Model, Construction: Semi-Hollow, Body: Mahogany, Top: Flamed maple, Neck: Mahogany, Fretboard: Rosewood, Birds fretboard inlays, Neck profile: Wide Fat, Body, neck and headstock binding, Scale length: 622 mm, 22 Frets, Pickups: 2…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

Recently Viewed
Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair

Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair - 2 matched small diaphragm condenser microphones, polar pattern: cardioid, frequency range: 20 Hz - 20 kHz, sensitivity: 14.6 mV/Pa, -36.7 dBV/P, max. SPL: 135 dB, low-cut: 80 Hz (12 dB/oct), pad switch: -12dB,…

Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic Me-C

Rode VideoMic Me-C; condenser directional microphone; suitable for Android devices with USB-C connector; integrated USB type-C plug; 1/2" condenser capsule; polar pattern: cardioid; front pickup angle: 90°; sturdy aluminium housing with ceramic coating; built-in microphone preamplifier with DA converter (24Bit…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.