Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3rd Gen

287 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 - Great interface for home studio and more
rEMAKER, 02.01.2021
I got this for my home studio to record guitar directly and for the midi capabilities for the future hardware synths I am planning on buying.
I have it connected with my kali lp 6 and it sound great.

When I was reading reviews for this sound card everybody was talking about how good the preamps are and I wasn't convinced until I tried them myself and they do sound great indeed.
The gain knobs for analogue 1 and 2 inputs light up and gives an indication when it almost clips(yellow) and when it clips(red) these colors can be be changed through the Focusrite control software.

The analogue inputs 3 and 4 can be controlled though the software only they don't have a hardware controls.
The Phantom Power 48v Only exists for the 1 and 2 inputs
There is a pad for the 1 and 2 input that you can control through the software you also use the software to control whether the 1 and 2 inputs are line or instrument.
The big monitor knob works only for the 1 and 2 outputs the 3 and 4 outputs come out as unity gain (0db) so that's something I had to keep in mind of when I was calibrating my monitors.


Pros:
Great sounding pre amps
Great build quality you can take this to any gig without worries
midi in/out great for using with hardware synths or no DAW setups

Cons:
It would be really good if it had an indication of unity gain on the monitor control when everything is set to 0db on the software.
Other than that I don't see any other cons

Overall a great budget sound card I recommend!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
great features, but not reliable
omgedo, 20.01.2021
Overall a good package, not without issues however.
What I liked:
- good sound quality with little to no noise (didn't use it to record voice, however)
- awesome package (both the bundled software and regular giveaways from Focusrite)
- good (but slow) support from Focusrite

What I didn't like:
The first unit went dead after only a month of real usage, I didn't expect this in 2020. Focusrite support was most helpful, however it was a hardware problem so I had to send it back. Kudos to Thomann for handling the issue in a prompt manner, got my replacement fast even though I am not located in Germany. But that 'fast' still meant I was a month without an audio interface.
From what I read, this appears to be a common problem with 4i4. I don't I'll be buying Focusrite products again until they sort out their QA issues.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Worked great for 10 months. Then USB died
RC-1290, 25.02.2021
- Pro: Probably great for use with laptops.
- Pro: Served me well when I used headphones only.
- Con: Had noise related to it being USB powered.
- Con: USB connectivity died after a rapid power cycle.

This was my first external audio interface, and allowed me to get lower latency while playing piano, than I got via ASIO4ALL, and allowed me to hook up some nicer microphones. As expected.

I initially used it with headphones only, with the idea to upgrade to proper studio monitors later. When I made that upgrade, I ran into noise issues. The ground hum was reduced by powering my PC from an outlet across the room, separate from my speakers, but there was still noise related to PC activity; low volume whine on mouse movements, higher volume noise during GPU intensive operations (e.g.: games).

So while it's nice to be able to power the thing off of USB, it's probably better for use with laptops than battery powered laptops.

I tried reducing the noise by injecting external power using Ifi's iDefender. Unfortunately plugging that in resulted in a fast power cycle, which killed the USB connectivity. Some quick searching showed that I'm not the only one who had one break after a quick power cycle.

It feels like a firmware issue, but Focusrite support (who are apparently very busy and hard to reach at the moment) consider it a hardware issue, and suggest an RMA. In the meantime it's just a pretty brick, with a nice button to enable a pretty 48V status indicator light.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect for a beginner
Calin-Mihnea, 25.09.2020
It was my first audio interface and I must say that for a beginner I could have not chosen a better one. Right off the bat the build quality is solid, full aluminium, hard plastic, easy intuitive layout, very simple to get used to. At this price point, I think there is no other better option out there, 4ins 4outs and MIDI.
Pretty straight forward to use, love that I've got a bunch of free software to experiment and build up experience. There is such a large library of toys that it would be a pity not to play with them all.
Works great with both platforms Windows / Mac OS. Better with Mac OS, too be honest, and I have read a lot of posts where people had horrible experiences with Windows drivers. So, Mac is the safest way to go here. (although I would love to have a Linux alternative).
The hardware and sound is good enough for a beginner, I was very excited about it at first, and don't get me wrong, I still am, but I soon realized that compared to other interfaces the sound is not that clear and it tends to clip very easily, thus, I was kinda bummed for not being able to use it at it's full presented capacity. But also, it depends a lot on your setup, pickups and pedals.

Conclusion: Good for beginners, amazing hardware specs at this price, solid, decent sound, bunch of free software to try.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A must have
snakeyay, 11.09.2020
This right here is the real deal - I held off to write the review until I got the 770 Pro 80Ohm headphones and here it is:

Regarding the sound, there is a CLEAR difference when plugging into the audio interface and when plugging into whatever soundcard you might have. Also, it drives 80 Ohm headphones without any issues, to get really satisfactory volume (a bit loud) seems to be at 60% of the volume dial (keep in mind, this is without any headphone amps) - at 100% it is blazing and too loud.

As I am a guitar player, I bought this audio interface exclusively because it had the "Pad" option, and having a guitar with Active pickups (EMGs), I didn't want to invest in an additional DI box etc - the "padding" does wonders and there is no clipping/distortion caused with the feature turned on. If you have a guitar with active pickups (especially hot ones like EMGs), I really recommend this audio interface.

I also use the t.bone M85 Beta microphone for either some "riff idea" recording or simply using the microphone during gaming. There have been many times where I was deliberately close to the microphone and was speaking in an... ASMRish voice and everyone in the Discord or game voice chat went "DUDE WTF" - the signal is clear and there is no clipping (once you play a bit with the knob).

Honestly, I cannot imagine NOT having an audio interface going forward and this little red thing spoiled me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Instrument input cannot be used without awful software
S. Nickname, 19.03.2021
At first this device seemed ok - it plays back music with little noise on my monitors, and records the microphone in acceptable quality. The only drawback was that I found it very hard to unplug XLR inputs, but maybe they would loosen up in time.

However, the device completely fails on the instrument inputs - they simply cannot be used at all without the Focusrite software - and the software is awful, requires registration, and admin permissions.

Since I also couldn't get the headphone output to work, I had to send my unit back. I will replace it with a preamp that has hardware buttons.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great interface, amazing focusrite support.
Sarasound, 09.11.2020
I'm using the focusrite 4i4 in two scenarios, connected to pc with digitakt and ipad as input, or connected to ipad through usb dataport, with digitakt and mic as input. Both setups work really well, although it took a while to figure out how to set up the focusrite control with usb hub (analogues need to be muted/removed in focusrite control). The focusrite control software/app is really clear and UI friendly once you know what you're looking at, I just wish that while connecting to iOS device you could use the focusrite control app (it only recognizes the interface when you're connected to computer).
I will mention that my first 4i4 had a hardware issue, but Focusrite have amazing customer support and the replacement is working perfectly. Thomann prices and shipping were great and customer service always helpful (though I got the replacement from Focusrite themselves).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Superb budget performer for home studio use
Jernej V., 06.02.2021
I bought the Scarlett 4i4 to use it at home for recording and instrument practice.

The Scarlett imediately became the centerpiece of my home office. For the intended use It offers a ton of possibilities in terms of I/O and sound shaping and sound mixing options:
a. The AIR option is a bliss for recording microphone and expanding recording options.
b. All standard options are available: PAD, INST, PHANTOM...
c. You can output the sound in almost any way imaginable in the mixing/rounting software that comes with the product.

The recording software bundeled is good, especially some of the VSTs. The instrument latency is very low with the correct settings which is why I also use the scarlett for home practice. It comes really handy in a tiny appartment.

I used the scarlett almost every day since it arrived either for recording purposes or just to practice guitar and bass. After a couple of hickups in the begining (a number of blue-screens in windows 10) it has now been running flawlessly for almost a year now.

CON: Immediately after the installations there were a couple of driver issues resulting in a couple of crashes. IT was solved for me via scarlett/DAW/windows updates, without me needing to do anything apart from updating all the products I own.

PRO: Ease of use, versatility, sound and construction quality, bundled software.

This is a product I highly recommend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent product
Janie, 25.11.2020
It was one of my best choices, currently being my favorite interface. All the features work perfectly, connects at least two microphones, my monitors, has a MIDI entry, a headphones entry and phanton power of 48V. This product came very quickly to my possession, in perfect conditions, all wrapped in plastic in a color that i love, red, so I recommend it 100%, very happy with my choice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good purchase
Gixxer, 06.04.2021
Focusrite + Neural DSP = boss. Very good interface, good package of software as a bonus. Sound is fantastic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
USB Powered not ideal
Pont , 08.03.2021
Super little interface. Very easy to use. The usb power really lets this down however. It consumes far too much power to depend on it. In situations where I was running multiple high power consuming applications the interface would randomly disconnect and reconnect. This seems to be a common problem after doing some research. This effectively makes in unusable. Might be okay for just single app use but if doing multiple things avoid and get a powered device. It is a real pity about power source because it is a great little device apart from that.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Professioinal kit
Myownroadie, 23.01.2021
Focusrite lead the market - This model enforces their position
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A great device in general!
Maximiliam, 18.03.2021
In general, this is a great device. Drawbacks are that you can't separate input 1+2 / 3+4 for routing (Of course you can use them separately in a DAW, for instance!), and I had more latency than I expected, resulting in the need of 32 buffer size, which occasionally might cause a bit of crackling.

But in general, really solid.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nice, but unreliable
Dymaxion, 01.05.2020
I've had two of these die with hardware faults where they won't power-on and the host system doesn't recognize them, over about the course of six months. They're nice while they work, but I can't recommend them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Hugo Antunes, 02.12.2020
users friendly, solid and small enough to carry around!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The best quality for this price.
yukij, 29.10.2020
Good audio interface, nice drivers and software. I can recommend this product. The air function make sound more better then default parameters.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Scarlet 4i4
text, 13.03.2021
Very low noise pre-amps, metal casing, useful loop-back feature, does not crash during use - all good things, still it feels like hyped monitor output with some low-end boost.
This can ruin your mixes if you are not careful as you will self-adjust and try to mix differently - as a result your mixes will have too little bass in reality.
As of now I'm only recording with it and mixing with another USB audio DAC, nothing wrong with pre-recorded tracks through the Scarlet.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Left ear sounds louder than right
ScotchX, 29.07.2020
I recently noticed that if I turn the volume down to a very low point on the audio interface itself, it stops playing in the right ear/right channel before it stops in the left channel. It almost seems like the left channel is a little bit louder than the right channel, meaning I can hear it at a much lower volume. Also the same thing happen with the headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Plug and play
Joel David, 25.04.2020
I bought this audio interface to record at home. I am not profesional, although I have shared projects with many professionals. I did hesitate to buy a new audio interface as I am quite picky. However this audio interface is absolutely great. I use it with my MacBook Pro and is just as easy as plug and record. I usually plug a Shure sm7b, a Roland piano and a Stratocaster guitar simultaneously and works perfect every time. Monitoring is easy as well not delays or any other problems. I wish I had it earlier. Highly recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Really good
lffonseca, 09.10.2020
Good sound and latency times. Would be better if it had more physical controls.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite 4i4 - "an effective solution"
AlejandroLacost, 07.01.2021
An interface with very powerful functions, constant flow of information.
Its characteristics are very effective, connections, quality potentiometers, arquitectura just and necessary for the model, and elegant finish that decorates.

The included software is very good, intuitive, making clear the anchors and supervision of each connected instrument or microphone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect for production
Rashad Sultan, 01.02.2021
I had a Focusrite Saffire from maybe 2010. I recently updated my laptop's OS and neglected to notice that my old audio interface would no longer be compatible. I never had a complaint about the Saffire so I simply looked for a newer version with similar functionality. The Scarlett is fantastic! It feels great to use, works seamlessly with my audio and midi instruments and DAW. I appreciate the updated look and feel, particularly the volume knob which is easy to adjust and quite precise. The light indicators for clipping is also a subtle but very useful touch. Cannot recommend this enough, great product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good and comes with free software!
Emmanuel Bueno, 28.10.2020
I have done my first EP with this and I am no professional, so this means this is easy to use. Good and reliable. No fuss.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
I like the old one more
Primzi, 20.07.2020
It works as expected, does the job well.

They removed the knobs you had on the old ones, I liked the knobs because you could switch and turn on things pretty fast.
Now you need a program, that is not explained for specific Interfaces.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Dead on arrival
Artnat, 16.05.2020
Cannot recommend as this arrived dead on arrival - not working at all. It seems that a lot of people are having the very same issue - just look at the forums . Probably not the best Focusrite product. As such I cannot give it anything but one star.

One shining point here is Thomann's very quick response in getting this thing returned (15 minutes, kudos!) Gonna send it back on Monday.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3rd Gen

199 €
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Dispatch expected by Thursday, 15.04.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(2)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme

Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme; video mixer; has all the features of the ATEM Mini Pro, plus an additional 8 HDMI inputs, 2 separate HDMI outputs, 2 USB ports and a headphone jack; In addition, this model has 4 chromakeys,...

(9)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Zoom G6

Zoom G6; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pedal board with 6 stomp switches and expression/volume pedal; Amp modeling; 4,3" color LCD touch-screen interface; 240 Patches; 100 Presets; Chain up to 7 effects + amp simulation; IR load function for...

(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE

Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE; Limited edition with golden highlights; limited to 1000 pieces worldwide; number engraved on console; All-in-one-DJ-Controller; controls per desk: 1x filter-control, 3 x equalizer-control, 1 x Gain control, 1 x volume control, 1 x...

Recently Viewed
Meinl TMDDGS Didgeridoo Stand

Meinl Didgeridoo Stand, TMDDGS, material: aluminum, two leg version, soft padding with protective rubber straps, hight, angle and depth adjustable

(1)
Recently Viewed
K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set

K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set, K&M Music Stand 10700-000-55 black incl. K&M 10711 Carrying bag, Total height max.ca.1.680mm, Made of steel, Music desk dimensions 485 x 240 x 42 mm, Desk angle fully adjustable, Music desk traditionally foldable, 3-piece...

(1)
Recently Viewed
LP Ridge Rider Cowbell Tommy Lee

LP 009TL Ridge Rider Tommy Lee Signature Cowbell, sitze: 8", patented vise clamp fits fits 3/8" to 1/2"diameter rods, bolted jenior protector protects cowbell and dampens the sound, made in USA,

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:...

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of...

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro...

Recently Viewed
Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green B.

Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green Burst, model: SC100GRB, special edition, body and front plate made of birch, colour: green burst, two integrated snare strainers, rounded corners for better playability, measures (H x B x T) in cms: 50 x 30...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.