E-Bow E-Bow Plus

1345 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.4 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Exactly What You'd Expect, and then a Little More
CammojoDragon, 04.08.2017
You probably know already what to expect from an EBow, and it's exactly that; a simple tool for creating infinite, violin-like sustain on a guitar. It does that beautifully! I bought one to add drones and string-quartet-esque harmonies to my music, and in the process of doing this, I came to realise the EBow is a touch more versatile than you might expect. There's quite a few secrets to getting some really varied stuff out of it!

For one, the device has two modes; one encourages more natural sustain, simply extending the note you play, but there's another mode that encourages rich upper harmonics to come into play. Now that's where things can get REALLY crazy!

How the EBow reacts with the pickups on your guitar is also very interesting; I'm not sure what exactly sure what about the pickups that causes this variation, but I've noticed on my own SSS guitar that the sustain is very mellow and ambient with my middle pickup sat beneath it, and bring out much more of the rich overtones and feedback-like sounds over the neck PUP. This likely won't be the same for you, but my point is, experiment! It's also worth noting that you don't have to have the pickup you're using with the EBow selected for it to work; yet another piece of the puzzle to solve!

I have two very minor complaints; the first is that the EBow itself is made out of a very flimsy feeling plastic (though I'm quietly grateful for this, as it feels surprisingly weighty once you get a battery into it!). The second is more a cautionary note than a complaint, but I feel you should be aware that the EBow causes the string to vibrate really very aggressively, which will likely mean that you will find it quite a bit louder than you usually are on your current setup. Again, not exactly an issue, but if you're in a very grumpy-neighbour-intensive area, I'd lower the volume a tad!

All in all, however, the EBow has made a fine addition to my ambient arsenal; there aren't many options to get this kind of sound, and the EBow sells for loose change compared to a special pickup system, and is a bit more unique than the effects pedals that try and capture the sound. Recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
E-Bow plus
Jimsim, 15.04.2020
This is a simple yet unique product and there are many ways to use it. Include in the E-Bow is a manual that shows you different movement produces different type of sound. The build is light and compact, is made of plastic but does not feel cheap. It also comes with a small pouch. It uses 9v battery (not included). It only has two features - one gives you a more natural sounding sustain, the other is rich harmonic-like sounding sustain.

Ebow is said to supposedly create a violin-like sustain on guitar, it kinda does that to some extent but honestly, it is something entirely different. The string auto-vibrates constantly and that is what creates the sustain and boy, it sounds good. You can run scales on one string but there is a small learning curve because the string vibrates so much, you have to time and control your finger movements.

E-bow is so versatile and there are so many ways to experiment with it to come up with unique sustain-like sound. It does take a while to learn to control the sound, and the grip/movement/when to lift/etc. on the string is important. Point is - to experiment!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
I just love it
25.02.2017
I bought the e-bow just to try it. To tell the truth I saw a few bands performing with it, and I got interested.

Since I'm using ambiances in my music, specially in my next job, it seemed to be an interesting piece of equipment to have. At the moment I'm using Ableton, which is absolutely OK, but I wanted something more "human-made" if you catch my drift...

The thing is that I was absolutely impressed by the playability of the e-bow. It's really fun to play, and it has opened an unexpected new soundscape for me and my project. It works with guitars and basses. I'm already incorporating it in my music as a 'whole instrument'!!!

Another good thing is that there's a lot of tutorial, info, techniques available on youtube, etc, so it's quite easy to learn and one can start enjoying it very quickly.

Very happy with it, indeed. 100% recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Gift for band's bassist
toomasb, 11.12.2020
I got this as a gift for my band's bassist so this is his review basically:
It works really well on guitar and the design is genius for guitar - there are multiple grooves on the lower side of the e-bow, if you rest the e-bow on a (different) string, it lines up perfectly. It's not so perfect for bass, though, because the strings are set further apart. That means a lot of practice to hold the e-bow at the right distance.
The plastic feels cheap but overall the e-bow is sturdy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
How straight forward can a product be?
PKPKPK, 16.02.2021
It's made out of plastic, but has been dropped several times without damage to it. With one single switch you can easily switch between off, haromic mode and regular mode.

The special thing about this unit is that it works just aswell on acoustic steel string guitars. I made a recording which ended up on an album where I used the Ebow to vibrate the strings of my resonator guitar, which made for a very pleasant sound.

If you are a guitarist, this is a must have.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A must have for experimental guitarists
Joaquin R., 16.05.2013
If you like to create interesting textures, bed of sounds and adding something different to your songs, get an Ebow. It's probably not the kind of thing you'll build a song around but it will add a whole new layer of interesting textures to your music, especially if you're thinking of recording.
It works really well with delay, not so much with distortion/OD as the eBow itself adds some degree of overdrive. You might find it hard to figure out at the beginning but once you do, it's really easy to use.
I have found it works best on the G string and not so well on the high E. You can get some really dark, droning sounds from the low strings if you add some distortion.
It's only real downside is its fragility. It's basically a very light bit of fused plastic you hold in your hand. If you drop it, it could easily break in two pieces. The switch is also very weak so you want to be careful about putting it in your pocket or somewhere where it might get friction.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very Easy to use
Jimmyy, 25.03.2021
Very straight forward and easy to use little toy. I love to use it when making ambient loops and to swirl notes in with the volume control knob and it is beautiful
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
the one and only
aMatur, 08.03.2021
all the superstar guitar players will do a better job reviewing it by just having it in their regular gear
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
It came with
15.04.2016
The E-Bow that thomman sent me, had a problem.. the cables that connect the 9v battery have short lenght, and the battery almost doesn't connect to the pins.. It's a big problem.. and the company should really be aware of this. I just didn't return the device because I don't have time to make the return.... But it's ok.. it works, besides this problem.. I'm just afraid it doesn't last long because the cables are in lot of pressure always (they're really bend so that the battery can fit).
Beside that situation, the sounds you can get from this are very good. It's very easy to handle. This is a tool to be used only sometimes.. I don't see myself using this often.. it's very specific.
I would say, in my experience, it's not worth it for this price.. the finish is terrible.. it lookes like it's going to break if it you let it fall to the ground.. it's a weak plastic. And because of the battery problem, I don't feel it is a fair price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Tiago Oliveira Coelho, 27.01.2021
It's an eBow! A classic, whatever you play, this is always a great creativity tool to have laying around your practice space.

it's sturdy and well built, and comes with a small bag to carry it around.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
It's an E-Bow.....what more it there to say? :-p
Sophie the tech, 22.09.2020
The first E-Bow I saw and briefly tried belonged to a guitarist friend who bought when they first came out about 40 years ago.
I've wanted one ever since but never got around to it.
The E-Bow is a distinctive sound and has to be just one colour you have available on your palette - it is not a "main tone" kind of device It is icing, not cake.
It is however good fun and even more useful in the world of todays mixing and editing capabilities. e.g. when recording, you can play a guitar line with a sound that has little sustain but then cross-fade into E-Bow on the notes that you would like to hold.

Using the E-Bow well in order to get the most from it will take practice. Moving quickly and smoothly from one string to another is a knack that one needs to learn.
- But that is also true of the plectrum! :-)
Playing long legato lines on a single string is very easy to do immediately, so even a novice guitar-player can pick up an E-Bow and immediately get some satisfaction from it.
I bought the E-Bow i.e. original brand because after watching several demoes and shoot-outs with other similar products on YT, the E-Bow still seemed to do the job best and the amount of money saved by choosing a cheaper competing product was not enough incentive to make a different choice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great addition to your equipment collection.
Jack4863, 15.02.2014
This piece of equipment makes an interesting change from your standard picked electric guitar sound. It takes a little bit of practise to get the hang of using it so you can get a note to sound clear, but once you do it really pays off.
The device has 2 settings.
The first setting causes the string you hover over to resonate and produces a sustained tone of whatever note you are fretting. The sound is similar to that of a violin or other bowed instrument. You can fret the string and change note and the emitted tone will never stop until you move the E-bow away from your guitar.
The second setting resonates the string to produce a harmonic relative to the fretted note, which can produce some interesting results when playing a song you're already familiar with.
The use of the E-bow is limited however, as there are not a lot of songs that feature it. However, it is great fun to experiment with, as well as being an interesting way of freshening up your sound if you find yourself uninspired.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Get yourself an EBOW!
Benni D., 07.07.2016
There aren't many tools that dramatically change the way you play guitar, but the E-Bow certainly does just that!

The E-Bow is a battery powered electronic bow, capable of creating a wide range of sounds, depending on the skill of the player. Although fairly easy to create the smooth attack and long sustain - almost reminscent of synth pads - sounds, with practise users can recreate sounds of cellos and string instruments! It can however take a lot of time to master these techniques.

E-Bow features two modes of functionality - normal mode, which creates an infinite sustain on the note played by your left hand, and harmonic mode which as you may expect adds a harmonic, creating a rich, thick and lush tone.

E-Bow can sound fantastic in the hands of the right player, and is a great tool to provide instant inspiration! I personally use it as a studio tool - when you would usually use a synth to create an ambient pad or background sound - E-Bow is a great alternative!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Super nice
Emilia S., 09.09.2014
Super nice tool. I didn't know that they work also on acoustic instruments. Works on several acoustic instruments that I have at home, basically it works anywhere there's steel/metallic strings. Doesn't work on ukulele, for example, but works very nice on acoustic guitars. Has a switch that sustains notes or harmonics, giving you a wider range of options to experiment. Good product, and if guitar is your main instrument, I guess one day or another every guitarist has to have one. My only criticism? It's made of cheap plastic, and at this price I would have expected something better. Other than that? It's a classic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Best Post rock Companion
Aman1994, 08.04.2021
e-bow with delay and reverb can do magic. This device is really inspiring and one should definitely experience it (hard to describe in words).

Just one con, It doesn't come with a battery
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great gadget but a little bit expensive.
Filip Kasprowicz, 24.09.2018
Really cool device, I recommend this to everyone who likes to experiment, especially if you are playing electronics/ambient, doom metal/drone or just like to sustain last notes of your solo for half an hour at the end of your song, it has two modes, one that sustains your note in a "regular" manner (doesn't change its sound) and the other one that creates additional harmonics and makes it sound differently every time (sort of like with pinch harmonics). It's a little bit expensive for what it does and the build quality of mine is decent at best (mine had a sharp piece of plastic near battery compartment sticking out) and it's made entirely of well... plastic... but it has a nice sparkly finish that make its glossy plastic look a little bit better, however I wish it was matte plastic or maybe even wood, it's certainly doable it this price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
One of my favourite musical things
Philip3830, 15.07.2020
I love the e-bow. It has allowed the electric guitar to exist in a new way for me. It is very expressive and I really enjoy it with overdrive and the ability to create such long, stinging notes and glides. It turns an electric guitar into a different kind of instrument.
Cons - a little hard to get used to holding and positioning. As of yet it is still hard for me to get from one string to the other easily.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing sounds
INTOTHEVOID, 14.06.2020
As a synth player primarily, I wanted to introduce some ethereal guitar sounds into some of my electronic music. By combining the eBow with my effects processor's delays, it creates amazing spectral sounds. I absolutely love it. The impact it has had on my music far outweighs the cost of the unit!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Ebow, has its place in guitar heaven.
Barnabus, 21.09.2019
Guitarists just love messing about with sounds. The electric guitar offers many different variations of tone and texture. Blending a new sound into a mix of a song is one of my musical pleasures. The E Bow, with its sustained clear signal and moveability on the strings, produces a sound which is unique. It's like a mixture of keyboard guitar and strings. It could be that missing element in a mix which adds a distinctive hook. Yea we love messing with pedals and devices and the Ebow is a well established tool of the trade. Get one!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Tiny but powerful
Black Swan, 07.10.2019
Just needed this to bring out a different tone out of my guitar....much more like keyboard sounds or violin really...Ed O'Brien type stuff....coupled with effects like reverb or delays or anything like SP404 stuff like filter, fuzz and tape echo....things can get pretty wild. just helps me to think of the guitar as a different beast really. Been using this with the volume knob on the guitar for tremolo...
Great for ambient shoe-gaze , lo-fi and volume swells stuff....sounds huge with delayssss...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Classic
Cathal N, 22.10.2020
This E-bow for me is really about compatibility. It will work very well with certain guitars and not so well with others. It is an instrument in itself and you need to put time into learning how to use it. The sound is the classic Faith No More (Stripsearch) kind of sound. I don't have other e-bows to compare it with but quite happy for the price. Responded better with humbucker guitars for what I was after (Studio LP). Didn't work so well with my telecaster or Sire S7. Just beware if you are using it with very responsive pickups there is a learning curve as it can be overpowering and affect a serious jump in (unwanted) volume.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Replacing a damaged E-Bow Plus
IbbyG, 01.06.2020
a few years ago, one of my five barking pack damaged my E-Bow Plus while examining it.
I was pleased to find Thomann stocks it.
Excellent add-on for creative and expressive solos
Love it!
great value for money
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Totally satisfied
thanosbls, 08.06.2019
Use this effect for guitar and discover a whole new dimension of your timbre .
The only disadvantage of this product is that it's a little hard to get the exact volume in every different note you play .Although i don't own a volume pedal , one could be useful . Use it together with reverbs too.
Takes a little while to get used to its handling but once you get it , it's totally liberating !
I recommend this effect to guitarists who want to expand their guitars sound !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Disappointing.
Gerardo5491, 27.07.2018
I got this thing to use it with my bass... And so I never made it work.
I read info in their official website, watched youtube tutorials, I tried with a Warwick Rock Bass 5 Strings, Metal strings, and as well with a fretless nylon strings bass, and I even tried it with an electronic guitar, no result at all! The thing works, yes, it makes some sort of noise when I switch it off and on but it doesn't make the effect which it is intended to do, I guess it likes some basses only, they say it requires practice, but I can not make it sound nice at all not even for one second, I wasted my money on this b-shit. I don't advice it to anyone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
just for geeks
Bider, 03.12.2019
I really love the modern sound it can provide, however you have to really consider how much time you'll be using this. I use it both in studio and on stage, but the performance side is reduced to one gig so far. I recommend it to sound freaks who really look for a crazy piece of sound
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

E-Bow E-Bow Plus

95 €
All prices incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery free of charge expected between Wednesday, 19.05. and Thursday, 20.05.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Test Report
EBow
EBow
MusicRadar.com (5/2018)
Read review · Read conclusion
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Modulation Effects Pedals
Modulation Effects Pedals
The term ‘modulation’ in its broadest sense covers a range of sonic effects, from the subtlest chorus to ear-bending ring modulation.
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg SQ-64

Polyphonic Step Sequencer with 4 Tracks 3 Melody tracks with 8-fold polyphony and 16 patterns of 64 steps each, Drum track with 16 monophonic sub-tracks, 64-Key matrix with illuminated buttons, OLED display, Editing modes per melody track: gate, pitch…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Harmony 61 MKII

Alesis Harmony 61 MKII Keyboard with 61 piano style keys, 300 sounds, 300 rhythms and 40 demo songs, speakers, headphone output 3,5 mm, powered via batteries (6x AA not included!), incl. skoove 3 month premium online lessions, dimensions: 948 x…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

Recently Viewed
Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair

Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair - 2 matched small diaphragm condenser microphones, polar pattern: cardioid, frequency range: 20 Hz - 20 kHz, sensitivity: 14.6 mV/Pa, -36.7 dBV/P, max. SPL: 135 dB, low-cut: 80 Hz (12 dB/oct), pad switch: -12dB,…

Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic Me-C

Rode VideoMic Me-C; condenser directional microphone; suitable for Android devices with USB-C connector; integrated USB type-C plug; 1/2" condenser capsule; polar pattern: cardioid; front pickup angle: 90°; sturdy aluminium housing with ceramic coating; built-in microphone preamplifier with DA converter (24Bit…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Starlight Echo Station

Effects Pedal Stereo delay, With tape, analogue, and digital effects, True or buffered bypass, Presets can be stored, Tap tempo mode, Additional effects can be downloaded, Dual processor UAFX engine, Live / preset mode, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm jack…

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.