AKG K-240 MKII

785 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good for studio/listening/guitar practice
JCS84, 12.03.2018
These are very decent headphones for a variety of musical applications. They have a relatively wide frequency response and have little or no sound "coloring". This means they are good for monitoring and audio production, listening to music, and also plugging straight into the headphone jack of a guitar amplifier for late night practice. When pushed, bass, mids and highs sound nice and crisp. Being semi-open they do leak a tiny bit of sound so this model is not ideal for voice recording.
I usually find this type of headphones somewhat uncomfortable, but these ones are especially nice to wear. They are self-adjustable and the pads cup the ears nicely. The synthetic leather pads make me sweat a bit around the ears after 2 hours or so, however.
This set includes an extra pair of velour pads and an extra cord, which is a nice addition and worth the price difference compared to the MKI (at the time of purchasing). Having detachable mini XLR cords is, by the way, a great feature.
Within their price range and category these are a very good option and I am happy with them. They sound better and are better built than slightly cheaper options, but might not be what serious Hi-Fi enthusiasts are looking for. For the listed applications they perform very well and are very reasonably priced.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
AKG K-240 MKII....AMAZING
Kosh2262, 12.09.2019
These headphones sound very good. When i switch between my Adam audio T7V's and the AKG K-240 MKII there is almost no differance in sound quality..... i was truly astonished that AKG have managed to squeez this much quality into a pair of headphones in this price range. They are very flat responce which is ideal for mixing tracks..... don't expect your music to sound better through these...that is not what they were designed to do. The are open back so not recomended for tracking but very well suited for mixing.... i use them to check my mix on a second source other than my Adam's. Highly recomended and i am loving these Headphones. Thomann got them to me on time and in pristine condition.... well packaged and protected. Buy these....you will love them
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Pretty nice headphones for the price.
Kalin, 28.02.2020
I purchased these to replace a pair of Superlux HD681 EVO that suddenly died (developed some phasing issues cancelling most frequencies.)
My first impression of the AKG K240 MKII was an awful, boxy, low-mid heavy sound... silly me, I just forgot that these are brand new and will need some "burning" time. So after a day or two they revealed the hidden gem inside - pretty clean and detailed sound, with very good panoramic stage. I did as a test 10 mixes of theatrical music and they translated pretty well on the theater sound system, just slightly bass frequencies heavy.
The build quality is good (they survived the first fall from my work desk) and ergonomically they are great - very lightweight, pretty flexible, big enough (I got a big head, yeah) and the earcups are going around the whole ear just as I prefer.
Overall, after two weeks of using AKG K240 MKII, I am pretty satisfied with my purchase and can definitely recommend them if you are looking for studio grade headphones in that price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
decent for all music except where deep strong bass is needed
Oll1, 07.04.2018
I use them for checking my mixdowns, altho for production you could use something more higher end to get better sound tonality as they are neutral or even little bit lacking in bass frequencies, the rest of the frequencies (mids/highs) are good.
pros: they are lightweight and do not tire the ear
cons: the connectors inside are very cheaply soldered and may brake loose as it happened with mine, but can be repaired easily.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Ah, AKG
snakeyay, 02.10.2020
To preface this, I am no expert in "high end super awesome headphones" (then again, you wouldn't be looking at these headphones for that) - however, here is my two cents:

I have replaced these with Beyerdynamic 770 Pro 80 Ohm and the difference in sound is simply staggering.

AKG's are very very flat - it is not even dependent on the mix, the bass is simply lacking - they are open headphones, so that is to be expected.
What you should also expect is a lot of sound leaking (again, expected), but don't think you can blaze some music late at night. These do get loud, but others in your household will be able to hear it.

Were it not for 770's, I would be using these still as they are very good at guitar tracking/playing, BUT - not very great in overall enjoyment of the music (well, 770's are better in my opinion).

The quality seems okay, they're not bulletproof, but they can survive a fall from the desk.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Awesome audio quality.
Mister Pigman, 14.07.2021
I love this headphones. It has a neutral sound which is excellent for mixing. This comes with two types of cord.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
SpiderBill, 12.06.2021
Been using AKGs for 40 years - used the old K60 and K160s as a sound engineer for many years. These carry on the tradition. My only complaint is that the headband could do with being longer - I have a big head! Very analytical and clear sound - perfect for monitoring.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Over 3 years of flawless opperation
Damian T., 17.12.2013
One of the first things i did with my AKG K-240 MKII's was to pull the cable awkwardly and bend the quarter inch jack which was half out of a headphone socket, this bent it and made it unusable. This turned out not to be a problem as a spare cable was included, hurrah!
My work space is in the family home so I wanted headphones that I could use on long production and mixing sessions as my bass heavy monitors were starting to drive everyone crazy. I wasn't willing to compromise on sound quality. I also wanted a way to more accurately monitor low end response because, even though my room is acoustically treated, I was frequently unhappy with the transportability of my mixes low-end.
I made the correct choice. These headphones are open sounding, detailed and pleasing while remaining sonically neutral. They are comfortable to wear for long periods both physically and sonically. They also look the same as the day I bought them and I am not precious with equipment.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
You won't go wrong here
FC Music , 18.12.2018
Solid headphone, well built, Choice of cables and muffs included. Very clear for mids and highs, not bass boomers which suits my taste.
Use them for monitoring jams and home recording sessions.
I've stood on them a few times - not a problem so far, bought them 3 months ago and they get daily use.
Update August 19th 2019: Great headphones, you ca't go wrong
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
In love
Giannis Vidos, 10.02.2020
The sound is amazing! The fit and the quality is very good.
I can wear it for hours
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Simply great
Bajo, 06.02.2021
First of all the feel incredible, it's like wearing nothing in terms of weight. The clarity of the sound is really good.For anyone looking for solid studio headphones this is a recommend if they don't want to spend too much money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very satisfied with the old Austrian Version
PaulN, 21.02.2014
I bought these headphones four years ago and they are like new ones. Mainly I use them for playing guitar over my PC interface and they work excellent. Sometime I also listen to music. Therefore, they have a little bit too less bass, but this is normal for studio heaphones.
The headphones are very comfortable and fit perfect on my head. The ears are surrounded perfectly and they produce no pressure on your head, so you can use them for a long time without needing a break.
They came with many accessories, like two cables and a second pair of pads. At least I don't know if AKG kept this quality when they changed their production place to China in the last years.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
I don't remember, but this edition looks cheap.
Janomix, 01.04.2021
Not the same audio quality of the original edition, sound poor and fragile.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Sehr komfortabel
Shoemeister, 13.03.2021
und klingt fabelhaft. Wirkt auch hochwertig verarbeitet. Nichts zu beanstaden!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Perfect headphones to play the guitar quietly and even listen to music
bdouvill, 26.02.2021
Use:
Bought this to start playing electric guitar again after a 15 year break. I want to play quietly without annoying my neighbors considering I play pretty badly.

Pros:
Honestly, after so many years only listening to music with very cheap headphones (or with my work headset), I completely rediscovered how pleasant it is to listen to music for real. Like a brand new world (or rather forgotten one). Sound is very clear and precise, really like it. Headphone is open but honestly, you don't hear that much out of the headphones. For the price, this is crazy quality I think.

Cons:
This is bulky but this is studio headphones. Not meant to walk outside connected to your mobile.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Outstanding
M TMO, 05.07.2021
The headphones sound amazing, extra accessories in the price, value / quality is amazing.
The only comment is that they are hard to carry, but I knew that before I bought them anyway.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Wow...
19.10.2014
I have been blown away by these headphones!

I have purchased these headphones to be used for a reference when mixing at home or in my university's studios. (!Caution being Semi-Open headphones they will not be suited for tracking as they will release sound bleed into the microphones!).
When first listening to these headphones I was shocked to hear how tight the bass response was (I'm not sure wether this is due to the semi-open characteristics because I have only used closed back headphones up to these), the headphones have a mostly flat frequency response and have great clarity/detail. I highly recommend them for someone who wants a pair of reference/main mixing headphones.

Most headphones are quite heavy and after a while get really uncomfortable, but not these headphones, these honestly feel like you aren't actually wearing a pair of full size headphones. They are really light and even when worn for hours (which I have done), they do not get the slightest bit irritable, which is a bonus for me as i'm usually stuck in front of my computer hours at a time when mixing.

I cant give an opinion on whether they are road worthy as I haven't taken them places where they would get bashed about etc, but to me they feel like they could take a beating even with their light and flexible frame!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great sound and great for the big-headed
D-bags, 19.04.2021
The sound is fantastic on these headphones, but the best thing I can say about these really is comfort.
As the large-headed among us will know, headphones can sometimes be a pain and may pinch on either the ear or the skull. These are just a breeze to wear, don't pinch and aren't easily knocked off either.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great for instruments & producing
Verii, 04.06.2018
These headphones are world-wide renowned for being honest and faithful in their music reproduction. Particularly fantastic for classical instruments such as the piano, they are also great for music production because of their flat frequency response. Their only downside is 1) comfort was not the highest priority and 2) I own a pair of vintage Sextett K240's, and while requiring a LOT more power to be driven, they sounded a little wider and more beautiful for lack of words. The current/modern ones sound a little more boring but again, for studio work that might be exactly what you need.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Superb studio headphones
Eschmelac, 17.03.2021
Satisfied customer. This classic has become even better in the MKII version. If you're looking for a flat, accurate sound, without modifications - this is the pair to go with.

Perfect for a home studio, especially when working on mixes that require to hear the sound as flat as possible. Mids are superb, just be careful with the bass range (your ear gets used to it.)

The build quality is good as expected for that price range. I find those to be very comfortable, even after an hour of work.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Overall a good headphone
Mikifriki, 17.06.2021
Overall a solid choice if you are in the market for cheapish headphones.
They can sometimes have a small bit of crackling on the high end on some songs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great homestudio headphone
Serge Bontemps, 16.03.2021
I bought these for my homestudio project. They fit very nice, sounds is pretty good. No complaints up till now.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
mhvnnn, 12.05.2020
pretty decent headphones for this price, the only thing i dont like is the comfort. If u use it for like 5 hours, your ears will probably hurt hahah, its good to know before ordering :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very Good for the price
SOUNDDESIGN11, 22.02.2021
First Headphones i Bought for mixing and i couldn't be happier.
Very comfortable, and good sound, but they could have a better response on the subs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good for the price
Sbenj, 30.01.2021
The headphones are cheap for the sound they offer, but with the cheaper price comes a flimsier build. It is also quite uncomfortable for glasses users.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

AKG K-240 MKII

60 €
All prices incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery free of charge expected between Tuesday, 27.07. and Wednesday, 28.07.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
8
(8)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton SC-550 II DFB

Harley Benton SC-550 II Desert Flame Burst; deluxe series; electric guitar; mahogany body (swietenia meliaceae) (weight relief chambered); arched & flamed AAA-maple top; set mahogany neck (swietenia macrophylla king); pau ferro fingerboard; 60`s neck profile; 305mm (12,00") fingerboard radius; 1th…

5
(5)
Recently Viewed
SSL UC1

USB DAW Controller Plug-in controller with convenient mixer layout and legendary SSL workflow, 1:1 Hardware control for the included SSL plug-ins Channel Strip 2 and Bus Compressor 2, Visual feedback via LED rings on the knobs, Display for showing…

Recently Viewed
Novation Circuit Rhythm

Novation Circuit Rhythm; sampler / sequencer; 8 sample tracks with 32 step patterns each, cascadable for up to 256 steps per track; functions: slice, reverse, loop, chromatic play, probability and pattern-mutate; integrated effects such as lofi tape, shutter, reverb, delay…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Keystep 37 Black Edition

Arturia KeyStep 37 Black Edition; 37-key (slimkey) USB controller keyboard; velocity-sensitive mini-keys with aftertouch; 64-step sequencer; chord and scale functionality; arpeggiator; LED display; 4 freely assignable knobs; transport keys; touch stripes for pitch and modulation; RGB LED bar; connections: 3x…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Aff. P Bass MN PJ PACK BK

Fender Squier Affinity P Bass MN PJ PACK Black; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: c; Fingerboard: Maple; Inlays: Black Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 41,3 mm…

Recently Viewed
Sennheiser CX True Wireless Black

Sennheiser CX True Wireless Black In-Ear headset headphone - 7 mm hight end drivers, bluetooth 5.2, up to 9 h running time, up to 27 h with charging case, SBC, AAC, aptX Codec compatible, 110 dB SPL (1 kHz /…

Recently Viewed
Pace iLok 3 USB-C

USB Copy Protection Key For software licences protected by iLok licence management, Enables serial use of the stored licences at different workstations, Depending on the size of the licences used, up to 1500 licences can be stored, Compact design…

Recently Viewed
Walimex pro Light Stand Air 355 cm

Walimex pro Light Stand Air 355 cm; light tripod; with air suspension; height continuously adjustable: 120 to 355 cm; transport length: 118 cm; Max. Load capacity: 8 kg; Weight: 2.15 kg; Stand area up to max. 135 cm; Mounting: 16…

Recently Viewed
Aodyo Anyma Phi

monophonic physical-modelling desktop synthesizer; simulates various acoustic sound sources such as resonators, organ pipes and strings; can also be used as an effects unit via audio input; 3 oscillators; effects: Resonators (filter), EQ delay, reverb chorus, phaser drive and folder;…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton SC-550 II PAF

Harley Benton SC-550 II Paradise Amber Flame; deluxe series; electric guitar; mahogany body (swietenia meliaceae) (weight relief chambered); arched & flamed AAA-maple top; set mahogany neck (swietenia macrophylla king); pau ferro fingerboard; 60`s neck profile; 305mm (12,00") fingerboard radius; 1th…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Aff. P Bass PJ PACK 3-SB

Fender Squier Affinity P Bass PJ PACK 3-Color Sunburst; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: C; Fingerboard: Laurel; Inlays: Pearloid Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 41,3 mm…

Recently Viewed
Bowers & Wilkins PI 7 CG

Bowers & Wilkins PI 7 CG; In-Ear True Wireless headphones; true 24-bit Audio-connection; 2-way-driver design; high performance DSP; Bluetooth 5.0 with AptX Adaptive technology; adaptive, active Noise Cancelling (ANC); charge case with audio-transmission; wirelesse and USB-C charge; supports quick charge;…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.