AKG C214

358 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Mic for its Price!
Eray Polat, 23.04.2018
I use this mic in my studio to track vocals and electric guitar amp mostly. AKG C214 is very similar to C414; at the first look the difference is polar pattern selector. C214 does not have this feature. You can only use Cardiod pattern. But, it's not a big deal if you're using it in a small studio or your home studio works. Cause if you don't have a very well acoustically designed room, Cardiod should be enough. Another difference from C414 is that C214 has about 1 db more mid range response. That makes it more usable for electric guitar amp recordings. I've been recorded vocals with lots of different mics, this C214 does very good job with vocals. Really satisfying. If you want to buy C414 but it's too expensive for you, get this C214 for a lower price. The performance is almost the same! There is one point that i don't like about this mic is the high-ends. They should be controlled very well prior to recordings. This mic may get too bright, of course it depends what you record, but keep that in mind. To sum up, i love C214 and there is no need to pay lots of more money for little technical differences!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
An incredible, versatile studio microphone
mynamejeff, 25.03.2021
It's not everyday that your grandmother randomly gifts you money, but when that happens, you obviously go to Thomann and buy yourself some musical gear you've been dreaming about.
I had been using an AKG Perception 100 (an entry-level condenser mic, currently discontinued) for years and wanted to upgrade. I was deciding between the C214 and the Shure SM7B, went for the C214 because it was more affordable and also seemed to better fit my needs according to the reviews.
It sounds, looks and is built like a much more expensive mic. The case also adds to the premium feel of the product. I love the shockmount and use it a lot when recording. I have yet to use the windshield so I can't comment on that. I use the mic for voice-overs, vocals and acoustic guitar, the sound is clear and detailed. I have now been using this mic for about four years and I highly recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
One of best mics under 500$
12.09.2015
As its features;
It has a smart case, a windscreen, and a shockmount comes with. I personally didn't like the shockmount because it is made of plastic. But beside of it many can like it because it makes the total weight lighter. It has a pad 0 dB, -20 dB and it has HPF switch. These are good features for a 400? mic.
As its sound;
This is really a professional sounding microphone. Here is my recording chain: AKG c214---->True Systems P-Solo---->TC C300 gate/comp---->Creamware Scope---->Cubase.
And here is another recording chain in another professional studio:
Audio Technica AT4050---->GreatRiver ME1NV---->ProTools. The same singer sang. And both were listened with an AKG K240MK-II headphone and Genelec 8030a speakers. The result is C214 has a more detailed sound, much higher ends ( but nice ) and very air than of the AT4050 has. My friends also liked C214's sound. It has a very nice proximity effect also.
As its quality;
Very nice expect shouckmount.
If you have 500$ to pay for a good mic put this one into the higher places in terms of your choices. It will worth for every penny.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
For recording - very good!
in4r, 03.05.2019
I use microphone AKG C214 at home studio for recording vocals, acoustic instruments and percussion.
It has very clear sound and high sensitivity.
As it takes sounds from longer distances as well any reflections it needs to use headphones with no speakers while recording to avoid acoustic feedback. With it you'll get good starting material for your project.
From short/normal distance it gives full frequency range to the sound. Smooth lower frequencies are better than with any dynamic mic.
For cons can I say only it isn't shockproof and also You can't use it for Live (with speakers). Overall, I recommend it for studio recordings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Simply excellent for voice captures
ncomer, 21.12.2015
I like the sound of this mike. For the price, the quality is excellent. I use it mostly for voice recordings, but once I used it for capturing a guitar cabinet from a distance (about 1 meter), for ambiance mix. I suppose it is also good for capturing cymbals, again as an ambiance creating effect. I would recommend it to anyone on a budget.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Go-to Microphone
RaJr, 30.05.2018
I recently purchased the AKG c214 to use it my go-to mic when recording individual elements, it has a fixed cardioid polar pattern (unlike it's big brother the AKG c414 featuring switchable polar patterns). I found the C214 to be particularly good on Male vocals, percussions, saxophone and string instruments; it gives a nice well shaped bottom end to the recordings with detailed and smooth high ends.
The microphone looks and feels nice, has a rigid body and seems to be solid and comes with an easy to use / steady shock-mount and a hard protective case with AKG's logo on it.
Very good quality for the money, an affordable alternative to the classic AKG c414 .
It's also nice that they come in matched pairs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Needed a cheap 414
Munroe, 25.04.2020
I bought this to use as a smaller "twin" to my 414. Because it is for piano recording, it is perfect to capture the upper mid to high frequencies whereas I used the 414 for the longer strings of the piano. It's a cheaper but effective solution if you already own a 414 and want to record professional piano without breaking the bank.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Can't beat this mic for the price
Daniel Go, 07.02.2021
Great sounding microphone, really haven't heard any better for the price and honestly, it compares to a lot of much more expensive microphones. Combine this with a golden age project pre-73 jr and a decent audio interface and you'll get some AMAZING sounding vocals on a budget. It can get a little sibilant, but I wouldn't say it's too bad. Would I recommend this? Yes, definitely.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent vocal mic for the money
Herr Becker, 02.01.2021
High quality sound representation requiring minimal eq in editing process, shock mount is of decent quality, comes in a nice case with a foam wind filter.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Awesome!
Kaboun, 29.02.2020
Great mic from AKG! Easy to use, extremely close to the C414, but way cheaper. Super clear quality recording and it comes with a great case!
Works very well for voice and any string instrument.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
ultrazone, 11.07.2019
I liked a nice product
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Happy with it...
Kakurrga, 16.11.2019
I took first record with my new C214 yesterday and I’m so happy even after compare my Gefell M930 TS. The sound was very clear and almost full transparente in my taste. Thank you Thomann.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
AKG C214 Review
Mate F., 24.09.2013
I have bought the AKG C214 a year ago and I have to say that this is a nice sounding studio mic for the price. If you are setting up a home studio this could be a great choice as an all around mic.

I used this mic to capture vocals, acoustic guitars and drum overheads (especially ride cymbals). I think this mike is great for a certain type of vocal sound. It's has a really warm sound compared to the average studio condensers in this price range.

Also it was really great capturing acoustic stuff, if you are pairing it with an SM57 or something like that.

It comes with usual features and accessories nothing special. Be aware that you'll need to have a good preamp (or a mixer with built-in preamp) to get this microphone capture properly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very clear Mic
diothegreat, 27.10.2019
Very good for voice.Clear sound.I have tested on a acoustic guitar with very good results.Its sound is better in my opinion for solo texture than accompaniments.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
AKG C 214!
D.Keest, 17.03.2020
Clear,warm,sound. Good microphone for professional works!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Fast shipping
30.03.2016
Thank You for easy shipping to my country. It easy to get large boxes, and it cost only 25 ¤, Thank You very much!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great sounding mic, amazing build quality!
mbebr, 17.01.2020
Bought this mic about two years ago, and I cannot be more happy! I believe it is a great price/quality ratio and will last me for a long time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A Sensible Choice
17.02.2017
Bought this mic primarily for vocal recording. It feels like it lacks some high end but not a big issue. It comes with a durable and light case which is very nice. For the price range, it feels like a great piece of equipment.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
On point Home Studio Mic
tomrid, 06.04.2020
excellent for studio recording, great sensitivity, vocals sound rich and not extremely bright. Also the package is elegant
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great quality mic
Panos D , 06.03.2019
I am very satisfied with this mic . After 8 money's of use no problems,
great results without any noise .My previous mic was an AKG Solid tube (800 euro value) I prefer the sound of c214 more . At this price its a bargain . Recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good All-round Microphone
Steven262, 16.05.2013
Very versatile microphone that I have since used to record vocals, electric, and acoustic guitars with and achieve very positive results. The microphone is supplied with a number of accessories; carrying case, windshield and microphone stand mount, making a decent package for an all round studio microphone that seems to handle a range of recording situations.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Solid acoustic mic
Ben0edgar, 03.08.2019
Incredible mic for acoustic guitars, good but not the best for vocals.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Mic!
JoãoM, 26.03.2014
What a great bought this was! Big improvement in terms of sound quality from my previous 100€ mic. Guitar and Vocals sound much brighter and alive and fit almost straight away in the mix. There's not much features to it but that's why the price is lower compared to the C414. Another great thing is the build quality. Very well build!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great mic!
11.10.2016
I've heard awesome stuff about this mic before I even thought about buying. Then I tested it at my friends studio and it's probably all you would need to record a very solid professional vocal track at a home studio.

Top microphone in the 300-400 Eur value range in my opinion!

The package comes with a solid case and a well-made shock-mount.

Very easy to set up, the only thing I would say it's when you're trying to unplug the mic cable from the microphone, you really have to press hard and sometimes the cable gets kinda stuck in the mic, so you should be careful not to the damage it. But it probably also depends on the cable itself!

I would and I will recommend this microphone to anyone. This is an amazing value for money, a really good job from the AKG guys!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

AKG C214

298 €
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Dispatch expected by Friday, 23.04.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-26
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Test Report
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Large Diaphragm Microphones
Large Diaphragm Microphones
They pick up any sound! In this guide, we have tracked down the most popular condenser microphones for you.
 
 
 
 
 
Downloads
Downloads
 
 
 
 
 
video
AKG C 214 Großmembranmikrofon
2:03
AKG C 214 Großmem­bran­mik­rofon
Rank #9 in Large Diaphragm Microphones
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
1
(1)
Recently Viewed
MOTU UltraLite mk5

USB 2.0 Audio Interface With USB C connector, ESS Sabre32 Ultra DAC technology, 24 Bit / 44.1 - 192 kHz, Precise level meters for all analogue inputs/outputs with high-resolution OLED display, 2 Microphone / line / Hi-Z inputs via…

Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Pro 5.8Ghz Instrument

Harley Benton AirBorne 5.8Ghz Pro Instrument, 5,8GHz digital wireless instrument system; suitable for all instruments with 6,35mm audio jack; plug-n-play transmitter & receiver; 5,8GHz band (5.729~5.820GHz); 24 bit/48KHz; 4 channels; transmission range up to 35 meter; latency 5,6ms; battery…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Go

Harley Benton AirBorne Go, hd modeling desktop guitar amplifier with built-in 2,4ghz wireless instrument system, bluetooth 4,2 dual mode connectivity, airborne go app for advanced tone editing, drum machine & rechargeable battery function, great features for wireless practice & play-along…

Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 65 Evo

Focal Alpha 65 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome 25W (Class D); woofer: 6,5" carbon fibre cone 55W (Class D); frequency range: 40 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 104dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x jack (6.3mm,…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 50 Evo

Focal Alpha 50 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome tweeter 20W (Class D); woofer: 5" carbon fibre cone 30W (Class D); frequency range: 45 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 101dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x Jack…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.